In the Spam Filter, We Trust

I have unlocked moderation on comments (I think), partly because of theparasiteguy’s post about moderated comments, but mostly because I have more faith in the spam filter.

I have a number of different wordpress powered websites, some active, other not, but the spam filter on the .org version of WP is quite useless. Without moderation, your blog becomes a link-builder’s dream home. But, after realising that wp.com has a spam filter that appears to let all the good stuff in, and the bad stuff out, I’m opening the flood gates.

…Bring on the trolling :P.

Do most of you guys still moderate new comments? Why or why not?

As always, thanks for reading.

Cortez

2 thoughts on “In the Spam Filter, We Trust”

  1. *Insert troll comment here*

    In all seriousness, trolls seem to be pretty much nonexistent on WordPress. It probably helps that almost all comments will be from people who have blogs of their own.

    1. Yeah exactly, it’s a pretty tight community. As opposed to out their in the vast wasteland that is the internet. I had to switch off email notifications on two of my sites because I’d wake up to a bunch of robots posting links on my pages.

Your thoughts?

